skip to Main Content

Two outstanding volunteers were awarded Fellows of CSAB on July 11 at the annual meeting of the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET. The CSAB Fellow Award is given in recognition of individuals who have given sustained, quality service to the computing profession and to computing education through the activities of CSAB.

  • Harold Grossman, Clemson University
    Harold began his accreditation activities as a program evaluator for CSAB in 1988. In 1992, he became a CSAB/CSAC team chair. He has served as an ABET/CAC team chair, commissioner, Executive Committee Member-at-Large, training support facilitator, and Chair of the Computing Accreditation Commission. He is currently Chair of the CSAB Quality Assurance Committee and an ACM Representative on the CSAB Board of Directors. Harold earned his Ph.D. from Michigan State University. He spent more than 30 years on the faculty of Clemson University, where he served as an associate professor of computer science and Interim Chair of both the Computer Science Department and the Computer Science Division of the School of Computing. He retired Associate Professor Emeritus in 2013.
  • Kay Schulze, United States Naval Academy
    Kay has been involved with accreditation for over two decades, first with CSAB/CSAC and then with ABET. She was chair of the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET for the 2005-06 cycle and chaired the ABET PEV Training Committee from 2011-13. She was named an ABET Fellow in 2009. Kay earned her Ph.D. in Computer Science from Boston University. She also taught at BU, as well as at the University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth. In addition, she served as Chair of the Computer Science Department at the U.S. Naval Academy, where she retired Professor Emerita in 2009.

Three individuals received Outstanding Contribution Awards. The Outstanding Contribution Award is presented to CSAB volunteers with at least three years of sustained service who have made a significant positive impact on CSAB operations, computing accreditation, or computing education.

  • David Cordes, University of Alabama
    For his leadership as 2013-14 Chair of the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET.
  • Mark Sebern, Milwaukee School of Engineering
    For significant, sustained efforts to update and improve the criteria for accrediting software engineering programs.
  • Stephen Seidman, Texas State University
    For continuing to support and promote computing accreditation and CSAB relations within the IEEE Computer Society.

Four individuals received special awards for their continuing service as team chairs. Each has served as a CAC/ABET team chair five times beyond their original five years of service as CAC commissioners:

  • Gordon “Don” Bailes, East Tennessee State University
  • Kenneth Martin, University of North Florida
  • A. Joseph Turner, Clemson University
  • Gayle Yaverbaum, Pennsylvania State University, Harrisburg

Eleven individuals received Certificates of Appreciation for exceeding expectations for service to computing accreditation:

  • Jean Blair, United States Military Academy
  • Lillian “Boots” Cassel, Villanova University
  • Adel Elmaghraby, University of Louisville
  • Sandra Gorka, Pennsylvania College of Technology
  • Richard Helps, Brigham Young University
  • Kenneth Martin, University of North Florida
  • Manton Matthews, University of South Carolina
  • Harry Reif, James Madison University
  • Han Reichgelt, University of South Florida, Saint Petersburgh
  • Edward Sobiesk, United States Military Academy
  • Mudasser Wyne, National University
Back To Top
×Close search