skip to Main Content

One outstanding volunteer was awarded the Fellow of CSAB on July 16 at the annual meeting of the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET. The CSAB Fellow Award is given in recognition of individuals who have given sustained, quality service to the computing profession and to computing education through the activities of CSAB.

  • Andrew Phillips, United States Naval Academy
    Phillips is currently Past President of CSAB and has been a CSAB program evaluator since 1997. From 2004-2009, he was a CSAB representative on ABET’s Computing Accreditation Commission.  He currently serves as a CAC team chair, CSAB’s PEV assignor, and Chair of CSAB’s Nominating and Recurring Awards Committees. Phillips earned his Ph.D. in computer science at the University of Minnesota. He is the Academic Dean and Provost at the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD. As the Academic Dean and Provost, Phillips is the Academy’s senior civilian official, and is responsible for leadership and oversight of all academic matters, including both faculty and curriculum.

The members of the CSAB-CAC Joint Criteria Committee received Outstanding Contribution Awards for their significant work updating the ABET Criteria for Accrediting Computing Programs and the program criteria for CS, IS, and IT. The Outstanding Contribution Award is presented to CSAB volunteers with at least three years of sustained service who have made a significant positive impact on CSAB operations, computing accreditation, or computing education.

  • Allen Parrish, CSAB Committee Chair, United States Naval Academy
  • Edward Sobiesk, CAC Committee Chair, United States Military Academy
  • Jean Blair, CSAB, United States Military Academy
  • Andrew Borchers, CAC, Lipscomb University
  • Scott Murray, CAC, HCA Healthcare
  • Michael Oudshoorn, CSAB, Northwest Missouri State University
  • Rajendra Raj, CAC, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Srinivasan Ramaswamy, CAC, ABB, Inc.
  • Mark Sebern, CSAB, Milwaukee School of Engineering
  • Judith Solano, CSAB, University of North Florida
  • Mark Stockman, CSAB, University of Cincinnati
  • Stanley Thomas, CAC, Wake Forest University
  • Heikki Topi, CSAB, Bentley University

A special recognition award was presented to one of CSAB’s longest serving volunteers:

  • Gordon “Don” Bailes of East Tennessee State University retires this summer from the CSAB ranks after 30 years of volunteer service, including as Chair of its Computing Science Accreditation Commission and President of its Board. Bailes was named a Fellow of CSAB in 2006. Please join CSAB in thanking Don Bailes for his many years of service to computing education and accreditation!
Back To Top
×Close search